Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops by Jen Campbell

Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops

I’m not sure if this book only really appeals to booksellers, but I absolutely loved it! I stopped what I was doing in the middle of work just to flick through it and laugh out loud, much to the confusion of the customers around me.
It is the kind of book that, as a bookseller, you know you could have written yourself. But, crucially no one has, until Jen. I’m am awfully glad she did, because it really made my day.

The first quote on page 3 makes me laugh, but almost everyday, someone asks me a question exactly like this one; Customer: “I read a book in the sixties. I don’t remember the author or the title. But it was green, and it made me laugh. Do you know which one I mean?”

There’s not much more to say about this fabulous little book of amusement, but I will leave you with some of my favourite quotes…

Customer: “Do you have a copy of Nineteen Eighty Six?
Bookseller: “Nineteen Eighty Six?
Customer: “Yeah, Orwell.
Bookseller: “Oh – Ninteen Eighty Four.
Customer: “No, I’m, sure it’s Nineteen Eighty Six; I’ve always remembered it because it’s the year I was born.”

Customer: “Did Charles Dickens ever write anything fun?”

Customer: “Do you have a copy of Atonement? But not the film cover, please. Keira Knightly’s neck makes me want to punch things.”

Customer: “What kind of bookshop is this?
Bookseller: “We’re an antiquarian bookshop.
Customer: “Oh, so you sell books about fish.”

Customer: “Some of these books are dusty…can’t you hoover them?”

Customer: “Do you gift wrap?
Bookseller: “No, I’m afraid we don’t, sorry.
Customer: “I’ll tell you what; I’ll nip to the Post Office and buy some wrapping paper. Then I’ll bring it back and you can wrap the book up for me, ok? You’re a shop, for Christ’s sake, you’re here to offer me a service.”

And the typical one…

Customer: “Have you read every single book in here?
Bookseller: “No, I can’t say I have.
Customer: “Well you’re not very good at your job, are you?”

Read it and laugh..or sigh 🙂

Love From,

Original Book Girl

Leave a comment

Filed under Adult Literature

Leave a Reply

