Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

‘I tried not to think anything at all. I just tried to be, tried to absorb the man I loved through osmosis, tried to imprint what I had left of him on myself. I did not speak. And then I heard his voice.’

This is the story of Lou and Will.
After his tragic motorcycle accident, Will is wheelchair bound and now a quadriplegic. His life seems hopeless, desperate, and his family are willing to do anything they can to help him.
Lou has done very little with her life, after she loses the only job she’s ever had working in ‘The Buttered Bun’, she is roped into becoming a carer for Will . When their paths cross, it changes both of their lives forever.

From the cover, and having never read any of Jojo Moyes books before, I was expecting this to be a bit of light-hearted chick-lit. It couldn’t be further from that. It is far deeper than I expected it to be. Very funny, but also terribly painful to read at the same time. I’ve never read a book with a quadriplegic as one of the main characters, and that made it stand out from any typical love story I have read before.

It’s not a taxing read, but it is definitely an engrossing one. I would recommend it, although, you should make sure you have some tissues nearby – I cried like a baby. It is absolutely unforgettable.

Love From,

Original Book Girl

Leave a comment

Filed under Adult Literature

Leave a Reply

