Before I go to Sleep by SJ Watson

Before I go to Sleep by SJ Watson

‘I cannot imagine how I will cope when I discover that my life is behind me, has already happened, and I have nothing to show for it. No treasure house of collection, no wealth of experience, no accumulated wisdom to pass on. What are we, if not an accumulation of our memories?’

Christine wakes up every morning with no recollection of where she is or how she got there. She believes herself to be in her twenties but when she looks in the mirror, she sees a woman in her forties staring back at her. She lives with a man, apparently her husband, although she has no recollection of him either. Every night when she goes to sleep, her memory resets all over again.

From the moment I started reading this book, I absolutely could not put it down. I finished it in a matter of hours, and what an exhilarating read it was too. A psychological thriller at it’s best, to say I’m impressed with SJ Watson’s debut novel would be an understatement. The twists and turns were brilliant, and despite the fact that for the majority of the novel not a lot happens, I found it incredibly fast-paced and raced through the chapters. The fact that Christine, as the narrator, has no idea what is going on or who to trust, makes her a completely unreliable narrator; my favourite kind! This means the reader is equally confused, so the surprises are all the more shocking.

I would recommend this to everyone, it’s such a great read, and definitely lives up to the hype.

Love From,

Original Book Girl

1 Comment

Filed under Adult Literature

One response to “Before I go to Sleep by SJ Watson

  1. Pingback: Sister by Rosamund Lupton | originalbookgirl

Leave a Reply

